Debapalooza 2013!

monkey

Debapalooza 2013 rocked tonight! Sitting with my two little boys on my bed we played our air guitars and drums while singing our hearts out to Elton John, Journey, Fleetwood Mac, Owl City, Danny Gokey and Rob Thomas. They were songs about losing love, betrayal, rocketing to the moon and enjoying the wonder and magic of life. After four tough years our adoption of each other is complete, and as we looked into each others eyes we sang the words, with full understanding, of what they meant to each of us; ‘It’s hard to deal with the pain of losing you‘, ‘don’t stop believing‘, ‘Mars ain’t the kind of place to raise your kids‘.

Midway through our concert, one of the little monkeys, made his way to curl up in my lap like a newborn and force a rocking motion to the music, finding a place in himself to roll between infant and his 11 years. The other turned upside down with his feet over his head in some acrobatic mold without releasing his little fist’s firm grasp around my pointy finger.

We belted out: ‘Don’t let the sun go down on me‘, ‘You may need me there to carry all your weight, but you’re no burden I assure You, tide me over With a warmth I’ll not forget, but I can only give you love’

We shifted position to our backs and lay snuggled together, one under each of my arms. As I gently tapped one’s hip and the others belly, we finished with a beautiful rendition of, Wonderful World, by a lovely Hawaiian man, Israel Kamakawiwo’ole, and something became clear to me. Together we were healing – and it was good.

I dedicate ‘Ever the Same’ by Rob Thomas to all three of my brave children. May we always hold each others hearts.

Leave a Reply

